New Hampshire Landlord-Tenant Laws
Tenant Screening New Hampshire
We have a separate post on tenant screening in New Hampshire that you can check out if you’re looking for resources involving screening tenants in New Hampshire.
Regarding Security Deposit
New Hampshire state law sets the limit that landlords can collect for security deposits as up to one months’ rent, providing that landlord owns 6 or more rental units. For landlords with fewer than 6, the law places no limit on security deposit amounts.
New Hampshire law requires landlords to hold a tenant’s security deposit in an interest-bearing account. Interest must be paid out to the tenant annually.
Landlords must return a security deposits within 30 days after the end of the tenancy.
New Hampshire laws concerning security deposits can be found in New Hampshire RSA 540-A.
Regarding Application Fees
New Hampshire law places no restrictions on application fees that landlords can collect for tenant screening services.
Regarding Tenant Bad Checks
Civil Penalties: The amount of the check plus any interest, court costs, and costs of collections. A landlord is also able to charge the tenant $10 per day that it is not paid, for a maximum of 5 days.
Criminal Penalties: The tenant can get up to a $200 fine, one year in jail, or both penalties.
Allowable Fees: $25
Reference > http://www.ckfraud.org/penalties.html
Regarding Notice of Termination for Nonpayment
In New Hampshire, a landlord must give a tenant at least 7 days in which to pay rent or vacate. After that, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings according to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 540.
Notable Nuances for Vermont State Landlord Laws
In Vermont, some cities and municipalities have different regulations and laws for landlord concerning registering themselves or their rental properties. Landlords in Vermont should check with their local housing departments for specific details of their area.
Signup takes seconds.